🔍 Read the full analysis: Why Musk Says Grok Costs Too Much—and What OpenAI’s Rules Add To The Debate on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
TL;DR
Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s cost of service was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but did not provide figures or announce a specific limit change. In the same week, OpenAI updated rules on paid accounts sharing devices and payment cards and said some plans will use a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December.
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” after an X user asked about usage running out quickly. Musk gave no financial figures and did not announce a new limit; in the same week, OpenAI updated rules for paid-account sharing and said some ChatGPT and Codex plans will use a shared allowance from December.
The exchange began when an X user asked Musk for a Grok Bot reset, saying that people were reporting their usage had run out quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” His post did not identify a specific change to the service, explain what had driven costs, or say whether users would receive a reset. The statement concerns Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, not Grok chat as a whole.
xAI’s pricing information lists Grok Bot in the Premium, Super and Ultra plans, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month respectively, and says its use draws from a shared weekly pool. The company describes agent use as measured by steps and tokens, with consumption varying according to the task. That means a monthly subscription price does not, by itself, establish a fixed amount of agent work. Musk supplied no cost, revenue or margin figures, so the scale of the issue cannot be calculated from his post.
OpenAI made several changes during the same week. Its help center says there are limits on how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device; the page covers Go, Plus and Pro plans. OpenAI has not published a numerical threshold in the supplied material. It also says that, starting in December, Plus, Pro and Business plans will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. The source says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that meter.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters
The developments highlight a distinction that can be easy to miss in AI subscription marketing: a flat monthly price may coexist with limits on usage, account sharing or access to expensive tools. For users, that can affect whether a plan suits frequent agent tasks, coding work or occasional chat. A task that runs in the background may consume a different amount of capacity from a short response, according to xAI’s description of Grok Bot.
For businesses, OpenAI’s planned shared allowance makes usage across two products part of one budget. The supplied source also notes that OpenAI’s rate card assigns different token costs to different models, with the most capable model consuming an allowance much faster per output token than the cheapest. Buyers may need to ask providers how limits are calculated, what happens when an allowance is exhausted, and whether additional use carries a separate charge. Those questions matter even when the advertised subscription price does not change.
At the same time, the available evidence does not establish that AI subscriptions as a whole are ending or that all providers are changing their prices. Musk’s comment is a short statement about one product’s costs, while OpenAI’s updates concern specific plans and account rules. The broader significance is the growing role of metering beneath fixed-price plans, not proof of a universal shift.
Products Worth Considering

DJI Osmo Mobile 7P Phone Gimbal with Mic Mini Transmitter, Infinity Black

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels

Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen), Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Changes Behind This Week’s Debate
OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, advertising “unlimited access” to its best models, according to the supplied source. The following month, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier statement provides a comparison for Musk’s post, but it does not show that the two companies have identical costs, products or subscription economics.
The source describes three OpenAI developments between Oct. 29 and Nov. 1. On Oct. 29, OpenAI’s release notes said Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans would receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. Separately, an OpenAI staff member posted that limits would be doubled across several tiers; the release notes provide the more specific account of which allowances changed. OpenAI’s help page then described card and device limits, and the company announced the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for December.
xAI’s plan information, as described in the source, places Grok Bot within subscription tiers and says weekly usage is shared with other services. The source also reports that an official Grok account attributed changes to “adjusted allocations” and referred to a dashboard fault, but its author said they could not locate that post. That account should therefore be treated as reported, not independently confirmed. The confirmed public basis here is Musk’s own brief reply and the companies’ cited product documentation.
““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””
— Elon Musk, in a reply on X on Nov. 1, 2026
The Limits Musk Did Not Specify
Musk did not say how much Grok Bot costs to operate, how much revenue it generates, or what “unsustainably high” means in financial terms. He also did not confirm that xAI had changed the weekly pool, say by how much it might have changed, or promise a reset, price adjustment or other remedy. His use of the past tense does not establish when or whether a specific cost or usage change occurred.
OpenAI’s supplied help-page description does not state the numerical limits for shared devices or payment cards. The source also does not give the size of the allowance that will cover ChatGPT and Codex, or explain in detail what users will encounter after consuming it. The reported post from Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a dashboard issue could not be independently located by the source author. Those details remain unverified here.
Watch for Limits and Allowance Details
The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned move to a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance in December 2026. The supplied information does not give a specific start date or the allowance amounts, so users will need to consult OpenAI’s plan documentation for implementation details as they are published. OpenAI may also clarify how the card and device restrictions are applied, including the thresholds that its help page does not disclose.
For Grok Bot, the source material contains no announced date for a reset, revised usage pool or price change. Users and businesses should distinguish Musk’s explanation of costs from a confirmed product-policy announcement. Further detail from xAI on the weekly pool, how agent steps and tokens are counted, or any service adjustments would clarify what users can expect. Until then, the exact cause of reports that usage ran out quickly and any resulting changes remain unresolved.
Key Questions
Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said service costs were high relative to revenue but did not say whether xAI had changed the weekly pool or by how much.
Which service was Musk referring to?
He referred to Grok Bot, xAI’s agent for tasks such as research or browsing, rather than making a statement about all Grok chat use.
What is OpenAI changing in December?
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The supplied information does not state the allowance amounts.
Has OpenAI published its device or card limits?
Its help center describes limits on paid accounts used on one device and subscriptions bought with one card or device, but the source says OpenAI does not publish a numerical threshold.
Do these changes mean fixed-price AI subscriptions are ending?
The developments do not establish that. They show that fixed monthly plans can include usage meters or account restrictions; they do not confirm a general end to flat-price subscriptions.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
