📊 Full opportunity report: A Data Index Of GLP-1 Availability And Pharmacy Pricing on IdeaNavigator AI — validation score, market gap, and execution plan.
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
TL;DR

IdeaNavigator AI has outlined a proposed index to help people find brand-name GLP-1 doses in stock and compare cash prices by location. The concept would also sell a normalized availability and price feed to health care and benefits buyers; no product launch or buyer commitments are reported.
IdeaNavigator AI has proposed a pharmacy index that would let consumers search for brand-name GLP-1 medicines by dose and ZIP code, compare cash prices, and check reported stock. The concept pairs a free consumer tool with a paid data service for telehealth providers, employer benefits teams, pharmacy benefit managers and brokers; no launch or paid pilot is confirmed.
The proposed index would cover Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro, organizing availability and cash prices by drug, dose and location. Its suggested first version would draw on crowdsourced stock reports and public pricing from manufacturer direct channels, including LillyDirect and NovoCare, as well as Costco, Walmart and a discount-price layer similar to GoodRx. The proposal does not specify how often each price or stock report would be checked or independently verified.
For consumers, the planned service would offer a free way to look for a dose and compare cash prices, with alerts when availability changes. The business model would rely on licensing the normalized data through an API or dashboard to one or two initial partners, such as telehealth prescribers or employer-benefits buyers. The proposal also mentions possible referral fees to legitimate pharmacies or manufacturer-direct channels, rather than drug-related clinical affiliate revenue.
IdeaNavigator AI recommends testing the idea in a single metropolitan area over 60 days. Its proposed validation targets are at least 200 consumer stock reports and two paid pilots or letters of intent from business prospects. Those figures are goals for a test, not results: the proposal provides no evidence that the test has begun or that any buyer has signed on.
A More Fragmented Price Search
The concept addresses a practical access problem that can persist even when a national shortage listing changes: a particular dose may be difficult to find in one area, while cash prices and purchasing channels differ. A location- and dose-specific index could make those differences easier to compare for patients paying out of pocket. The proposal puts the price range at roughly $199 to more than $1,000 a month, but does not provide a date, drug-by-drug breakdown, or methodology for that range.
For employers and other health care buyers, a consistent feed could help them understand where products are available and what cash prices are advertised across channels. The proposal says employers report GLP-1 medicines account for roughly 20% of pharmacy spending, but gives no survey, population, or time period for that figure. The index is therefore an untested business idea, not evidence that a data service would reduce costs or improve access.
From Shortages to Local Gaps
The proposal describes a shift from broad shortage concerns to fragmented local availability and pricing. It says the FDA declared tirzepatide shortages resolved in December 2024 and semaglutide shortages resolved in February 2025. It also points to manufacturer cash-pay services and retailer programs as reasons prices are spread across more channels. The proposal says compounding deadlines pushed compounders out of the market, but does not detail which deadlines or their effects.
These developments frame the proposed index as a way to normalize information that is presented separately by pharmacies and manufacturers. The proposal also names the TrumpRx portal, saying it launched in February 2026. The material does not explain what prices or products the portal lists, or how it would supply data to a third-party index.
Verification and Buyer Demand
No live index is described, and the proposal does not name a development team, launch date, participating pharmacies or data-sharing agreements. It is also unclear how crowd reports would be checked, how quickly listings would be refreshed, or how the service would distinguish an advertised price from the amount a customer can actually pay after eligibility rules and fees.
The plan does not establish whether the named channels provide comparable prices or complete dose-level stock information. It also offers no evidence yet that consumers would submit enough reports to keep the index current, or that employers, telehealth providers, PBMs or brokers would pay for the feed. The proposed targets are validation criteria, not confirmed demand.
The Proposed 60-Day Test
The next step outlined by IdeaNavigator AI is a single-metro test with a consumer finder and a separate business landing page pitching the availability and pricing feed. The proposed test would track whether it receives 200 stock reports and whether two prospective business buyers sign a paid pilot or letter of intent within 60 days. The proposal does not state when that period would begin.
If the test proceeds, its results would show whether users contribute useful reports and whether potential buyers express willingness to pay. Until those milestones are reported, the index remains a proposal; its coverage, accuracy and commercial viability are unresolved.
Source: IdeaNavigator AI
Key Questions
Has the GLP-1 pharmacy index launched?
No launch is reported. IdeaNavigator AI describes a proposed product and a possible single-metro test.
Which medicines would it cover?
The proposed index would track Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro by dose and ZIP code.
How would consumers use it?
The planned free tool would let users search for reported stock and compare cash prices, with dose-level availability alerts also proposed.
Who might pay for the data feed?
The proposal identifies telehealth prescribers, employer-benefits teams, pharmacy benefit managers and brokers as potential business customers. No buyer is confirmed.
What would count as a successful test?
The suggested 60-day targets are at least 200 consumer stock reports in one metro and two paid pilots or letters of intent from business prospects. These are proposed targets, not achieved results.
Source: IdeaNavigator AI
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
