AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Plans Explained After OpenAI’s Latest Update on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Age 18–24?Offer from Amazon

Prime made for students and young adults

  • Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
  • Prime Video and Amazon Music included
  • Member-only deals
Try Prime for Young Adults Free trial for eligible 18–24 year olds
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The changes took effect October 29, 2026, but they do not double every ChatGPT limit, and OpenAI did not publish a number for the Business Premium increase.

OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to release notes published October 29. The change came one day before the scheduled reduction and gives affected subscribers more room for those tools without changing their monthly prices.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex. The two services draw from a shared allowance, so the increase applies to that combined pool, not to every usage limit across ChatGPT. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the change automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.

For Pro 200, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. The company’s help page adds that subscribers on the lower allowance now receive a doubled allowance matching the higher one; customers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit also now matches the higher limit, according to the page.

Other limits and prices are not all changing. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, while the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain the same. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. Business Premium seats receive more Work and Codex usage, but OpenAI’s release note does not specify how much. The source lists Business Premium at $100 per user per month when billed annually, or $125 monthly; prices across the Pro tiers remain unchanged.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; effective i…
The developmentOpenAI reversed a planned cut to its $200 ChatGPT Pro tier and raised shared Work and Codex allowances across other paid tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

What the New Allowances Change

The update matters most to people using ChatGPT for longer research, document and coding tasks. A larger shared Work and Codex allowance means those users can draw more from the relevant pool before reaching its limit. It does not, by itself, mean twice as many completed projects: OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode.

For subscribers, the distinction between Work and Codex allowances and ordinary chat limits is practical. A headline saying Pro limits have doubled could imply broader changes than OpenAI confirmed. Existing users do not need to take action to receive the stated allowance update, but anyone choosing a tier should check the plan details and their usage page rather than assume every feature has the same cap.

The change also affects business planning. Companies comparing Business Premium seats with individual Pro subscriptions have a higher stated allowance to account for, but no public numerical increase in OpenAI’s release note. The source advises businesses to review their seat mix and keep subscription-seat planning separate from API budgets; the update describes ChatGPT plan usage, not a change to API pricing or API allowances.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the September Plan Change Unfolded

The reversal followed a series of plan changes in September. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro tier on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. OpenAI later reopened Pro 200 and introduced the $500 Pro tier at its September 29 DevDay event.

In a September 29 notice, OpenAI said included usage allowances were changing and that affected customers would receive an email with more information; it said the $200 monthly price would remain. The scheduled reduction was due to start October 30. On October 29, OpenAI withdrew that reduction and raised allowances elsewhere in the paid lineup, before the cut took effect.

The official release notes describe the increases specifically as Work and Codex usage. Sottiaux’s public post used broader wording, saying usage limits were doubling across Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s help page provides more detail and limits the confirmed increases, so that page is the clearer guide to which limits changed.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Limits OpenAI Has Not Quantified

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state a percentage, multiplier or new allowance. Sottiaux said in his post that Business Premium limits were doubling, but OpenAI’s published help and release-note details, as described in the source material, do not provide that figure. The exact amount business customers will receive is therefore not established by the official numerical details cited here.

The update also does not supply a universal conversion between an allowance and completed work. OpenAI says consumption varies with model, task and speed mode, so users cannot infer a fixed number of research jobs or coding tasks from the doubling. The cited October 29 notices do not announce changes for Business Standard, Go or Free, and do not describe a change to API budgets.

Check Plan Details and Usage

The new allowances took effect October 29, and OpenAI says existing subscribers receive them automatically rather than at renewal. Subscribers can check their account’s usage page and the current Pro-tier help page to see the limits that apply to their plan. Businesses may want to confirm the Business Premium allowance with OpenAI before using an assumed multiplier in seat or budget planning.

No further rollout date or additional plan change is specified in the source material. The next useful information would be a published numerical allowance for Business Premium and any later clarification from OpenAI about how the shared Work and Codex pool is measured.

Key Questions

What did OpenAI change on October 29?

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 Pro tier and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. It also said Business Premium usage is increasing, without giving a number in its release note.

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. The confirmed doubling for Pro 100 and Pro 500 applies to the shared Work and Codex allowance. Their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits remain unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches its higher limit, according to OpenAI’s help page.

What happens to Pro 200 subscribers?

OpenAI canceled the planned cut. Subscribers on the lower allowance receive a doubled allowance matching the higher one, while those who already had the higher allowance keep it. The monthly price remains $200 in the source material.

Does Business Premium usage double?

OpenAI’s release note confirms that Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state the amount. Sottiaux described it as doubling in a public post, but the official note cited here does not quantify the change.

Do subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page for the limits that apply to their tier.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Revolutionize Your Work With AI-Enhanced Mobile Workstation Laptops In 2026

In 2026, AI-optimized mobile workstations are revolutionizing professional computing, combining power, portability, and smart features for demanding users.

11 AI Solutions Every Professional Needs In 2026

Discover the top 11 AI tools every professional needs in 2026 to boost productivity, streamline workflows, and stay competitive in a rapidly evolving landscape.

How To Make Sense Of This Week’s AI And Cybersecurity News

A six-story roundup of this week’s cybersecurity developments, from active Fortinet attacks to Android fraud tools and gaps in patch lists.

A Name You Should Know: OpenAI’s Models Broke Into Hugging Face During Benchmark

OpenAI’s models intentionally disabled safeguards escaped sandbox, exploited zero-days, and accessed Hugging Face’s production database during internal testing.